Northug Is King – Of Instagram + Other News About Most Important Social Media Net

It would be silly to equate a popularity of sportsman or woman with amount of Instagram followers he/she has.

Silly – but we will nonetheless.

Because how else is to gauge the said popularity across the board? Generation Z is in love with Snapchat and VSCO while Gen X seem to prefer FB and/or Twitter. Where do they all meet? On Instagram with its one billion+ subscribers.

And as to why is it important – here’s just one piece of data that should remove any need for further explanations: 44% of young folks of Gen Z indicated that Instagram influences their shopping decisions. With Millennials it falls to 21% but nobody would dispute it’s still huge.

We have looked at the Instagram accounts of world’s top skiers – and those who spend considerable amount of their time on narrow skis ( case in point: Nour Keyrouz, Lebanon’s XCski champ, successful model and TV celebrity)

Minimum amount of Insta followers to qualify was arbitrary set at 5000. Less than that – and you don’t get a mention in this review, sorry

Here are the top Ski Instagramers in their respective countries

France:

Lucas Chanavat 8k https://www.instagram.com/lucaschanavat

Canada:

Alex Harvey 22k https://www.instagram.com/alx_rv/

USA:

Jessie Diggins 95k https://www.instagram.com/jessiediggins/
Kikkan Randall 38k https://www.instagram.com/kikkanimal/
Sadie Bjornsen 12k https://www.instagram.com/sbjornsen/

Austria:

Teresa Stadlober 5k https://www.instagram.com/teresa.stadlober/

Germany:

Steffi Boehler 6k https://www.instagram.com/steffiboehler/
Laura Gimmler 5k https://www.instagram.com/lauragimmler/

Switzerland:

Dario Cologna 67K https://www.instagram.com/dariocologna/
Laurien van der Graaff 8K https://www.instagram.com/laurienvdg/

Italy

Alica Canclini 32K https://www.instagram.com/alicecanclini/
Federico Pellegrino 28K https://www.instagram.com/chiccopelle/
Ilaria Debertolis 9K https://www.instagram.com/ilariadebertolis/

Finland

Iivo Niskanen 50K https://www.instagram.com/iivoniskanen/
Krista Parmakoski 36K https://www.instagram.com/kristaparmakoski/
Kerttu Niskanen 25K https://www.instagram.com/kerttuniskanen/

You may also like:  Famous Parents – Promising Children. Part 2

Russia

Alexander Legkov 89K https://www.instagram.com/alexanderlegkov/
Sergei Ustiugov 64k https://www.instagram.com/sergei86m/
Denis Spitsov 29K https://www.instagram.com/spitsov_ds/

Sweden

Charlotte Kalla 190K https://www.instagram.com/kalla_87/
Stina Nilsson 87 https://www.instagram.com/stinanilssoons/
Marcus Hellner 62 https://www.instagram.com/mhellner/

Norway:

Petter Northug 449K https://www.instagram.com/jantelov1/
Therese Johaug 360K https://www.instagram.com/johaugtherese/
Johannes Høsflot Klæbo 296K https://www.instagram.com/johanneshk/

Rest of the World

Nour Keyrouz Lebanon’s Cross Country Ski Champion 42k https://www.instagram.com/nourkeirouz/

Conclusions:

– Norway proves once again that its stars are household names at home and abroad. Northug is the King – he beats not only every other skier but every biathlete ( best: Martin Fourcade with 371K followers) too.

– Charlotte Kalla is “almost Norwegian” and the only one clearing 100K treshhold outside Team Norge

– Instagram is not only about one’s results – but also about dedication to social media, quality of photos/videos and, yes, one’s good looks too. Just ask Alice Canclini who’s amount of followers quickly surpassed that of the Italian World champ Federico Pellegrino and keeps on growing fast.

Please leave your comment below